Nagaland Assembly forms panel on Naga political issue

The Nagaland Assembly has formed a seven-member drafting committee on the Naga political issue which has been on fire for more than two decades.

Created by President Sharingain Longkumer on February 16, the panel includes MPs from ruling and opposition parties, as well as an independent.

The members of the committee are Toshi Wungtung and Neiba Kronu from the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), Pangnyu Phom and Jacob Zhimomi from the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chotisu Sazo and Imkong L. Imchen from the Naga People’s Front (NPF) and Tongpang Ozukum , an independent.

After decades of armed extremism, peace appeared in Nagaland in 1997 after the Isak-Muivah faction of the Nagaland National Socialist Council, or NSCN (IM), declared a ceasefire.

However, several rounds of talks failed to find a solution to the political problem, with the exception of the August 2015 framework agreement between the Center and the NSCN (IM) and the November 2017 common position between the Naga Center and National Political Groups (NNPG).

The NNPG consists of seven armed groups that compete with the NSCN (IM).

Discussing the problems created by the protracted Naga conflict in the assembly, NDPP lawmaker Toyang Chang called for adapting to the changes and called for a joint effort to move forward.

BJP lawmaker Imna Along acknowledged the Nagaland government’s positive efforts to reach a solution. “The adoption of certain resolutions at the consultative meeting on the matter in October 2020 was a step in the right direction. But we have to eliminate the differences between the different stakeholders, ”he said.

Y. Vikheho Swu of the NPF called for the reconstitution of the Joint Forum of Legislators so that MPs can make a meaningful contribution to the resolution of the Naga issue. The NPF left this forum in August 2020 citing a “huge confidence deficit”.

Comments are closed.